Always Apricot: Denim Vest & Sundress

Hello everyone!  I hope your week is going well so far.

First, I apologize for being away from my blog. The moving process started last Thursday, so most all of my clothes are in boxes which makes things a little difficult when I want to wear something cute. I’ve been living in t-shirts and shorts for the last week, so I feel like I’m back in high school.

I wore this outfit last week before all my clothes were packed. Amanda was free so were able to get our very last shoot in.  It’s been very bitter sweet, as I’m going to miss doing shoots with her since we always have so much fun, but I’m also looking forward to taking pictures on South Beach. Wow, I can’t believe I just said that!

I have decided that this is my favorite lip color. I wanted a red that was summery, bright, and casual, and this L’Oreal Paris lipcolour is perfect. It’s #425 Always Apricot, and has definitely been my go-to lipstick this summer. You’ve probably seen me wear it a lot in my latest posts.

Aren’t these flowers amazing?! I have no idea what kind of plant this is, but we found it behind one of the stores on Main Street. So pretty! This is thing I miss about Ames; finding beautiful places that seem to keep themselves hidden.

While shopping with the BF a few weeks ago, we came across this vest at Dry Goods at Jordan Creek Mall. I’ve been looking for a good denim vest, and this seemed to have everything that I wanted – light wash, frayed edges, and cropped.  The cropped part is very important because it helps keep my figure.  I absolutely love the look of a denim vest over a sundress. I may have to force myself to wear it any other way. :)

If you’ve known me since high school, you should know that I love my messy buns. For awhile I cut my hair pretty short so I couldn’t do it for a few years, but now that I’m growing my hair out, they’re back! I did it a little different than my usual one though. I used my donut bun to make it instead of hair ties, and I also set it lower on my head.  Since I wanted a casual look, I kept it a little messy, only using a few bobby pins for support.

The humidity in Iowa has been insane, so I’ve been pinning my bangs back a lot! I just twist my hair over starting on the left and use a bobby pin to secure on the right. If your bangs are a little longer, you can try french braiding! I did that a lot for volleyball and it never fell out.

After I buy a new camera (hopefully this year) I may start making YouTube tutorials on how I do some of my favorite styles. I think trying to do tutorials with pictures and paragraphs is very hard to follow, so I’ll wait. In the mean time, please let me know if there is any tutorials you’d like me to do so I can start a list!

Thank you so much for reading and enjoy the rest of your day!

◆ Outfit ◆

◆ Sundress – Walmart

◆ Denim Vest – Dry Goods

◆ Sandals – Guess from TJ Maxx

◆ Accessories: Earrings – Walmart, Bag – Target

◆ Photography ◆

Amanda Howell

2 comments

Leave a Reply

