“Where Dreams Come True”

Hey everyone! I hope you all had a fantastic Fourth of July! Mine was a little strange because I spent the entire day getting ready to move! Yes, I will be moving to Miami in 2 weeks! I’m so excited, but moving is so stressful so I’ve been trying to pack a little at a time. One great thing about the process is that I’m probably getting rid of half of my stuff. It feels good going through everything and I’ll probably be sending 3 or 4 boxes of clothes and stuff to Goodwill.

When I was little, my sister and I would frequently switch rooms, even without our parents’ knowledge, and one of the rooms was completely covered in Mickey Mouse. I’m serious when I say covered. The walls were striped with red, white, and black with Mickey everywhere. It might have been one of the reasons we switched so much. It was a love-hate relationship with that room.

So you can imagine that I’m a HUGE Disney fan. My boyfriend and I actually watched all 50 animated films from the beginning to end last year, starting with Snow White and ending in Tangled. Tangled is my all time favorite Disney movie, and I’m not exactly sure why. It used to be Lion King and Aladin, but ever since I saw Tangled, I became obsessed. Mind you, it came out in 2010, so I was 20! Can you imagine if it came out when I was six?

The passed week, I’ve probably watched Tangled over 10 times. Before you judge me, since I’ve been packing all week, it’s been my background noise since I don’t need to look at the screen anymore to know what’s going on. I think I put it on to keep my stress low, and another reason is because there have been many parallels in the movie with my current situation with moving to Miami. I’m basically feeling like Repunzel after she leaves her tower. Repunzel is all about chasing dreams even if that means ignoring what others think, so it’s been a huge encouragment!  If you haven’t seen the movie, I HIGHLY recommend it. :)

A couple weeks ago when Gustavo was visiting me we spent a day at Jorden Creek Mall in Des Moines. When I saw this Mickey shirt, I knew I had to have it! I reminded me of all the great memories I shared with my sister, but it also serves as a symbol of following your heart. I know I’m being super cheesy in this post, but I truly feel like I’m at one of those moments in life where I’m finally choosing my own path.

So with this outfit, I just wanted to share that your style should reflect your personality and who you are, and sometimes you can take it literally, like with a Mickey Mouse shirt if you love Disney.  I also love denim, and these shorts were such a great way to add variety to the denim that I own. Floral print is very in for this summer, and these shorts are a great way to introduce the trend into your wardrobe if you don’t want something super flashy or colorful.

I also bought some accessories, including this awesome gold cross necklace. It looks like three, but it’s actually all in one.  This belt came in a set of three, so I also have mint and brown. The extra length allows me to play with all the fun ways it can be tied. The boots and the bag give the outfit a little rocker edge to it which I can sometimes be in the mood for.

Thank you so much for reading, and don’t forget to follow your dreams!

◆ Outfit ◆

◆ T-shirt – Wet Seal

◆ Shorts – Dry Goods

◆ Boots – Famous Footwear

◆ Accessories: Bracelets – gift, necklace – Dry Goods, Bag – Target, Belt – Wet Seal

◆ Photography ◆

Amanda Howell

Leave a Reply

