A Walk in the Garden: Coral Maxi & Silver Details

Hi everyone!

Today’s post takes place in the beautiful Reiman Gardens. I’ve been waiting patiently to do a photo shoot there ever since I started my blog, and since Amanda had a free day, we finally were able to do it!  It was so much fun to walk around and see all of the gorgeous flowers and plants. The landscaping is absolutely breathtaking, so I hope you all enjoy these pictures as much I enjoyed taking them. :)

One of my favorite summer trends is the maxi dress or skirt, although recently I’ve noticed how extremely picky I am when buying them. I think it’s very important to be aware of your body shape when looking for a maxi dress. When I saw this one at JCPenney I knew I had to have it. It’s the perfect length for me because I can wear it with flats and have it almost reach the floor. The natural waist is important since it helps keep my figure, and I’m also in love with the pleating. It’s such a beautiful detail – you’d never know that I bought this dress for $35!

The other great thing I love about this dress is that I can dress it up or down. Over the weekend I wore this exact outfit to my cousin’s wedding, except my hair was in a bun because of how hot it was that day.  In a previous post, I dressed it down with a lace top, making it into a skirt. You can see the post here.

The belt is actually a DIY project because I couldn’t find a belt in my price range and that matched my jewelry. I basically hand sewed pretty belt clasps to a sparkly silver ribbon – both of which I got from the new JoAnn Fabrics in Cedar Rapids.  The girl helping me had some great ideas, and this was one of them!

I was a little worried about these shoes when I got them in the mail. When I tried them on I thought they were going to be too tall, and since I didn’t spend a lot of money on them, I didn’t have high hopes for comfort. Surprisingly, these babies lasted the whole wedding without my feet hurting! Amazing! I think they’re a keeper. :)

Thank you so much for reading! I hope you enjoyed the pictures!

◆ Outfit ◆

◆ Dress – JC Penney (Also seen here)(similar)

◆ Sandals – GoJane.com ($21!)

◆ Accessories: jewelry – Kohl’s, belt – DIY

◆ Photography ◆

Amanda Howell

3 comments

  1. What a pretty maxi dress and the color is amazing. Love the DIY belt I very creative. I love reading your blog and your outfits are chic, feminine and best of all affordable!!!!!

Leave a Reply

