Stripes with a Cherry on Top

Hey everyone! Hope you’re all having a fantastic week. My presentation on Monday went really well, so yay!

For those of you who haven’t had the pleasure of visiting Main Street in Ames, the Cupcake Emporium is definitely a hot spot. When you walk in you really feel as if you stepped into a time machine and went back to the 50’s. The atmosphere is so fun and inviting, not to mention that the cupcakes are FANTASTIC!!! They have so many flavors! My boyfriend is obsessed with peanut butter, so he always has to have one. They actually bake a Reese’s cup into the bottom of their peanut butter cupcake! Plus they make the most delicious peanut butter frosting you could ever taste in your life. You can probably imagine how rich it tastes, so I like to stick to an original vanilla one with, of course, a cherry on top. I also bought a red velvet cupcake for later. So yummy!!! Am I making you hungry yet?

My outfit was something I really just threw together in a hurry, but I think I really like it! The shirt is actually a cotton blend peplum top that I tucked inside the shorts. I think it worked pretty well. I added the hot pink belt for a splash of color. This is actually a typical outfit that I wear to class – jeans or shorts with a cute top and flip flops. I know flip flops aren’t the greatest, most stylish, or the quietest sandals but sometimes comfort rules all.

Since the weather has been warming up and it’s more humid, I’ve been pinning my bangs back, but it would have been so awesome if I had them down for these pictures. Oh well! There’s always the next retro vibe outfit. :)

Thanks for reading! Happy Wednesday!

◆ Top – Kohl’s (also seen here)

◆ Shorts – thrifted DIY (how to here)

◆ Flip Flops – Target

◆ Bag – Target

◆ Belt – random

◆ Photography ◆

Amanda Howell

7 comments

    1. Thanks so much! ♥ I love your blog! I can’t wait to be in a place where I can go to fashion events. ISU only has one a year. I think it’s awesome that you post pics from them! Very cool. :)

Leave a Reply

